How To: Fix a Squeaky Door Hinge

How to: Fix a Squeaky Door Hinge Using Coconut OilHaving a roommate who’s alarm goes off at a different time than yours is one thing about college that I’m still getting used to. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday my roommate‘s alarm wakes her up by blasting “Shake it Off” by Taylor Swift at 7am. Meanwhile, I shake it off (pun intended) and do my best to fall back asleep until my alarm wakes me up a couple of hours later.

She’s really nice about being as quiet as possible in our room.

Unfortunately, the most difficult part about this comes when she opens our door. The hinges squeak. Loudly. The last two weeks we were able to handle it, but on Friday it startled me so much that I nearly fell out of my bed.Like this? Pin-it!

We didn’t have any WD-40 or anything else like that on hand, so I went looking for a better solution.

Now, I work as a media manager for a company that makes coconut oil, and I happened to have some of their coconut oil on hand. Lately I’d discovered that coconut oil can do practically everything. So I thought, before we go out and buy something to fix this, lets try with what we already have!

Squeaky door hingeCoconut Oil!So I took a small amount of coconut oil in my hand…

And I put it on the front and back of the door hinge. Then proceeded to open and close the door a couple of times (made my roommate wipe off the excess coconut oil) and alas it worked!

So far it’s been a couple of days and the door has stayed squeaky-free! I did some research online afterwards (which I probably should have done beforehand..) and found testimonials from a lot of people saying that this method can rid doors of squeaks for months onto years.

I know this is a little silly, but since it’s a simple low cost life hack that I didn’t know about until trying it, I figured I should let you know that it works!

What are some of your favorite low cost hacks? Tell me below!

Instagram BlogLovin Twitter Pinterest Image Map

One thought on “How To: Fix a Squeaky Door Hinge

  1. Pingback: Cheat-Sheet: 45 Incredible Uses for Coconut Oil (And Benefits) | Yuri Elkaim

Leave a Reply/Comment: